acme Letsencrypt verification [resolved]

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by dmgeurts, Oct 8, 2022.

1. dmgeurts

dmgeurts Member

Having built a new ISPConfig 3.2 server with only Nginx and MySQL, the admin portal is not publicly available (2 interfaces, one private and the other public). Am I correct in thinking that acme (at least initially) uses the same domain as the admin portal? Is there a way to change this default domain used for/by acme to a different one?

The server_name in /etc/nginx/sites-enabled/999-acme.vhost is easy to change, but that doesn't cover ISPConfig internals. I'm new to acme as all my other servers are still 3.1 with traditional Letsencrypt (certbot). For non-ISPConfig, I've moved to DNS-01 domain verification where the web server interacts with authoritative DNS on another server.

There's no acme log file in either of /var/log/ispconfig/ or /root/.acme.sh/

Last edited: Oct 8, 2022
  2. ahrasis

ahrasis Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter

It is true that server FQDN is used to obtain LE certs for ISPConfig server but I am not sure that caused your ISPConfig admin not publicly available. Try to follow Please read before posting! to find out what went wrong with your server or Let’s Encrypt Error FAQ to find out what is wrong with your LE client. In my experience, ISPConfig installation normally works fine.

As side note, you said you are using MySQL compared to MariaDB, which is preferred by ISPConfig installation, this might or might not be related to your problem but do check.

On further note, you can use DNS-01 domain verification or dns challenge in an ISPConfig server as I am using that on mine about three years already. The easiest way is to get it before you install ISPConfig but you can also do that thereafter but it will be a little bit more technical if so.

Edited: I would also change its renewal conf especially renewal params to something like this for certbot to advocate letsencrypt_renew_hook.sh: