Adding SSL certificate from GeoTrust to domain hosted using ispconfig v3

Discussion in 'General' started by yoyosuper8, Nov 2, 2015.

1. yoyosuper8

yoyosuper8 New Member

Hello, I'm new to using SSL certificates. I have a website which I bought the domain from noip.com. I also purchased the SSL cert thru noip.com which uses GeoTrust. I received an email from GeoTrust providing in the body of the email the Web Server Certificate and the Intermediate CA certificate (no files were attached). I login to ISPConfig v3 panel to access my domain configuration. When I'm in the Web Domain section of the site I want to install the SSL certificate, I enable the SSL checkbox in the "domain" tab. Then, I click on the "SSL" tab. I copy and paste the Web Server Certificate that was emailed to me (including the beginning and end tags) into the "SSL Certificate" textbox and then select SSL Action to "Save Certificate", then I click Save. When I try to visit my website by using https:/ /www. mydomain .com it doesn't work. I get a Secure Connection Failed the SSL.

Can someone please help me install my SSL certificate to my website? Any help is appreciated. Thank you.

2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Did you create the car for this certificate in ispconfig?

3. yoyosuper8

yoyosuper8 New Member

Do you mean if I created the csr? If yes, then yes I did created the certificate request. I also have the certificate private key of course. I created the private certificate key and certificate request using openssl. Then I provided the csr file to noip in order for them to create the ssl certificate.

4. till

It would have been much easier if you crated the key and csr in ispconfig. As you created them outside of ispconfig, you have to add them in the fields of the website as well.

5. yoyosuper8

yoyosuper8 New Member