Apache Fails to start after trying to install SSL on IPCONFIG3

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by Evan Pantano, Nov 10, 2020.

1. Evan Pantano

Evan Pantano New Member

Hi All,
    Ive searched quite extensively before posting to try and figure out my issue to no aval. I am a complete noob when it comes to linux and cmd line stuff. So i'm sure i did something wrong here.

My server info:
    Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS

My Issue:
    I had everything working, websites, email, etc. Even had my SSL configured for the websites. However i wanted to get SSL on the 8080 port that ISPCONFIG uses. So i followed this tutorial
    https://www.howtoforge.com/tutorial/securing-ispconfig-3-with-a-free-lets-encrypt-ssl-certificate/

After completing the steps apache broke and none of my websites load anymore. I tried deleting the SSL folder in ispconfig and then running the
    "ispconfig_update.sh" cmd. I select stable and then it tells me:
    "There are no updates available for ISPConfig 3.2"

Do i need to completely reinstall ISPCONFIG? Im not sure what I did wrong, but i have a feeling its something to do with the SSL setup for the 8080 port.

Please help! Going crazy here.

2. Th0m

Th0m ISPConfig Developer Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Check the status of Apache and view the errors there:
    Code:
    systemctl status apache2
    Deleting the SSL folder was not a good idea, it might have made your problems worse.

What you can try is doing a force update and reconfigure your services:
    Code:
    cd /tmp
    wget https://www.ispconfig.org/downloads/ISPConfig-3.2.tar.gz
    tar xvfz ISPConfig-3.2.tar.gz
    cd ispconfig3_install/install
    php -q update.php

3. Evan Pantano

Evan Pantano New Member

Hi Th0m, thanks for the reply. after running
    Code:
     systemctl status apache2 
    Here is the output.
    Code:
    ● apache2.service - The Apache HTTP Server