Apache2 not starting

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by Ganther, Feb 6, 2009.

1. Ganther

Ganther New Member

I have been trying to figure out why Apache will not start. I am running Ubuntu 8.10 following the perfect setup guide running ISPconfig.

Apache was running and the Vhosts_ispconfig.conf was blank when creating a new site tried following some of the possible solutions in the forums now Apache won't start. Here are some of the troubleshooting I found in the forums and there out put.

httpd -t
    httpd: bad user name ${APACHE_RUN_USER}

apache2 -t
    apache2: bad user name ${APACHE_RUN_USER}

Any help would be great as I am a newbie and this sever is for learning and testing so starting over would not be a problem but I would rather get guidance to figure out what I did wrong..

2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

3. Ganther

Ganther New Member

I will retry that Till but that is when it stoped working for me I will give it another shot when I get home today

4. Ganther

Ganther New Member

I changed the user name as indicated in the link you provided
    User www-data
    Group www-data

made these changes to /etc/apache2/apache2.conf

Now when I run restart apache it still fails

When I run httpd -t and apache2 -t both get Syntax OK

Any suggestions

5. Ganther

Ganther New Member

Till

This is what I found. keep in mind I am new and learning so let me know if I am on the right track.

checked the apache2 error.log this is what it has in it

unable to start piped log program ' /usr/sbin/vlogger -s access.log /var/log/ispconfig/httpd': No such file or directory

I was able to get apache2 to start by commenting out this line in the apache2.conf

Include /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/

Now when I start apache this is the msg I get

root@webserver:/etc/apache2# /etc/init.d/apache2 restart
    * Restarting web server apache2 [Fri Feb 06 23:33:07 2009] [warn] NameVirtualHost *:80 has no VirtualHosts