Automatic resync in crontab – is it possible?

Discussion in 'General' started by V4xen, Jan 23, 2020.

1. V4xen

V4xen New Member

Hello!

I have been an ispConfig user and admin for several years. However, for the first time I'm encountering a problem that I can't overcome on my own, which I'll describe below.

I need a mechanism that will automatically run Resync (in Tools tab) from cron. The situation is that I have web.domain.tld server with ispConfig on which all services (web, db, mail etc) work. I want to create its "backup", which is a second server to mirror the former - say bck.domain.tld. So I need a continuous web->bck replication.

I tried to create a multiserver instance with a new server (because web.domain.tld has been running for a long time and its migration is a huge workload - lots of images), but it didn't work.

My second idea is to replicate the database (simple Master->Slave replication) as it is, i.e. full copy, including dbispconfig and mysql database, then doing Resync in cron, and then synchronizing files (also in cron). All of this would probably be one script written to crontab run every e.g. 15 minutes. Is such a solution possible at all? Is it possible to call resync via remote API or manually via /tools/resync.php?

If not, I'll probably ask for help with retrieving the bck.domain.tld server as a multiserver mirror...

Thanks in advance, I'm counting on your help, because I've run out of ideas.

2. Jesse Norell

Jesse Norell ISPConfig Developer Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

In brief searching I don't find that exactly (though it might be found yet?); "use the remote api" is a common answer for many use cases. You could of course dig into the code of what happens when calling that and likely write a script that includes the relevant libraries and makes the appropriate call. Alternately, look at emulating the HTTP request which fires off such a call.