BAD CERT (ssl) on other domains when adding a new Subdomain

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by Martin., Jan 27, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Martin.

Martin. New Member

Hello,
    Since 2013 I have my own clouds, clients and platforms and switched from VestaCP to ISPConfig about 6 months ago.
    So, I'm new to this (awesome) Community, (fantastic) Panel and even bought and read the book. Thanks for all of this, btw!
    However, even after reading 500+ threads across various topics, 1 issue remains - requesting help.
    ---
    On a new server there are 4 different TLDs (.biz, .net, .asia, .cloud) with combinations of subdomains per client (xx.domain.asia, xy.domain.cloud)
    plus the main domains (domain.biz).
    All domains use SSL with their respective client settings, and so far - with a lot of experimentation in the beginning - domains and subdomains have been added via DNS Zones, since A-records didn't seem to play well with Let's encrypt (or the certbot issue some months ago)

8 Domains are working WELL on that one single-IP server, I'm on the latest version (git-stable) using nginx only.

The issue now is, adding a second (or third) subdomain to .cloud (v2.domain.cloud) "disrupted" the certificate from .biz
    After that I've tried pretty much everything, including adding/removing sites and records and certificates, using DNS zones as well as A-Records - not working. Also considered the delay between abvailability and SSL generation - nothing works. The server deliveres anything but the domain.biz.

I understand that server requests take the "next best" match (i.e. in lack of a valid SSL?), and delivers SSL for either xz.domain.asia (there are 3) or xy.domain.cloud (there are 2 now, 2 more where removed) - even after bind9 and server restart.

Removing the newly added domain entries and creating the .biz SSL anew (per klick) restored .biz and .cloud domains. (fortunately),
    but I'm stuck and can't get any more subdomains to work?