Cant login to webmail (roundcube)

Discussion in 'Server Operation' started by armaclaren, Aug 31, 2018.

1. armaclaren

armaclaren New Member

hey guys,
    I'm hoping this is going to be something simple... I wasnt using the email functions before, so this has never been an issue but on a fresh ISPconfig install, I created a new email address within the ISPconfig server console.
    (example)
    Email address: test at test dot com
    Password : Password
    When I try to login to webmail it says "login failed" ...I just assumed that I typed the password in wrong; but I've made multiple accounts and it just says "login failed".

I am extremely new to ubuntu linux and I was hoping you good folks could point me in the right direction as to what I could check on the server to see what I could change to fix the issue?
    many thanks in advance!

2. Taleman

Taleman Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter

I don't understand "the ISPconfig server console". Have you created the email address from command line?
    ISPConfig Panel has functionality to create e-mail boxes. First create a e-mail domain, then an e-mail mailbox.
    You say you are using webmail. So Roundcube is installed? Do you get the Roundcube login page?
    Also do these:
    https://www.howtoforge.com/community/threads/please-read-before-posting.58408/

3. armaclaren

armaclaren New Member

hey bud, I'm very glad you replied. you've given me some rock solid advice on a previous issue!

to be honest, its kind of hard to explain the issue without giving a lot more detail.

I purchase the ISPconfig manual and went through setting up a single server step by step on Ubuntu. I even followed this video on youtube setting up email (not a promotion, I'm just trying to give as much detailed as I can): ht tps ://ww w.youtub e.com/watch?v=0PUMN5ZTuZA
    I'm using Ubuntu 16.04 and ISPconfig 3.1