Change how ispconfig handles website creation

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by Jonathan E. Emmett, Feb 28, 2017.

1. Jonathan E. Emmett

Jonathan E. Emmett New Member

Ubuntu Server 16.04 LTS
    Ispconfig 3.1
    I'm pretty new to using ispconfig 3, love the product so far, but have some issues with how the sites are created. I don't use .vhost files, never have and I'm thinking that is where the disconnect may be. I think.. So if I create a website, say netdigity.com as the first site in ispconfig 3, and then I great another site, netdigity2.com (i doesn't matter what this site name is), netdigity2.com redirects to netdigity.com. Is this a way that Im not seeing to change this behavior? Or is there a way to tell ispconfig to create the site.conf.vhost files as site.conf files? I have always just set up each site as a .conf file then used a2ensite to enable it.. . .

2. Jonathan E. Emmett

Ok I'm just going to say I tried this last night and it didn't work.. however today it seems that it's working correctly. Sorry for the unneeded post. lol
    I would however still like to know if there is a way to configure the way that ispconfig creates the sites directory.

3. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

That's what ISPConfig is doing. Each website has it's own vhost configuration file in the sites-available folder which get's enabled with a symlink in the sites-enabled directory.

Jonathan E. Emmett likes this.
  4. Jonathan E. Emmett

Yeah I"m seeing it now. Till is there anyway to change the Document Root: to be something like /var/www/domainname/public_html ?

5. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer