Cloud 9.10 server.. Yes I know..

Discussion in 'Suggest HOWTO' started by HarshReality, Dec 13, 2009.

1. HarshReality

HarshReality New Member

I'd be interested in a down and dirty minimal cloud server setup and how to setup a minimal 'dummy client' machine. I have to youngsters here who use the system to do school work and to be honest I'd rather avoid a POS barebone windows machine.. As I understand cloud systems all the data is stored on the server and the applications are virtualized so I could effectively regulate what they do/do not install (I know.. linux permissions etc. but its far easier when one machine goes down due to kids goofing to just replace the machine and pick up with no data loss).

Also, have the browser in cloud using dans guardian or the like to filter content.. I know.. Im new to the whole concept this is why I suggest a tutorial ;)

Last edited: Dec 13, 2009
  2. syadnom

syadnom New Member

not really 'the cloud'

I think that you are using the 'cloud' analogy wrong.

The 'cloud' is a concept where the services are run in a virtualization structure. the 'cloud' aka internet aka web is an economic function, not a replacement for desktop hardware. You dont run a browser in a cloud because it is a native app(and should be) on your desktop.

you would run your website in a cloud, your php app, mail server, etc. You might even host a Windows server for RDP desktops or a Linux LTSP for dumb terminals. There are efforts to put your office apps in 'the cloud' also.

I think what you should really be looking at is an LTSP server which is the Linux Terminal Server Project. It lets you use old hardware as a simple 'head' unit with video, keyboard and mouse and then process everything on servers.

Edubuntu is actually designed for this. google them up and there is a guide that is pretty good.

3. HarshReality

HarshReality New Member

OK, attempting to clarify..