Configuring LAMP on multiple machines (configuration)

Discussion in 'Technical' started by Auriferous, May 16, 2008.

1. Auriferous

Auriferous New Member

I'm pretty new to linux but have a good understanding of networking etc. I am setting up DMZ network to host our website, SugarCRM, and mail service. We are a business to business company so we don't get a huge amount a web traffic as a retail ecom site would.. We use about 500 MB bandwidth a day.

My question is how many servers do I need to set up a well functioning LAMP environment that also includes mail service. Currently I am hosting our SugarCRM site from a pentium 4 and it seems to do pretty well so far. Its an old computer.. a gig of ram, 2.6 mhz processor.. not really a server. I'm looking at purchasing 2 Dell Poweredge 2600's with the following specs:

1) (2) Intel Dual Core Xenon's @ 3.0 with 5 200 gig HD's @ 7000 rpm 553MHZ (x2) = 1086 FSB

2) (2) Intel Dual Core Xenon's @ 2.4 with 3 37 gig HD's @ 10000 rpm 400MHZ (x2) = 800 FSB

I was figuring running the mail server, ftp, and apache on 1 server and MySQL on the other. I wasn't sure if I should put the CRM site on this set up or keep it in the lame old box its in now. Or perhaps I should use the lame old box for the mail server?

Also I really need some advice on where to put the power. I figured on using the high speed hard drives for the data server and use the high speed processors and high capacity HD's for the webserver and mail server.

Do I need another server to do this? Perhaps as needs increase then I could add another server?

Any advice is much appreciated!

2. falko

falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff

You could even run everything on one box if it has enough power. You might also want to consider virtualization, e.g. with OpenVZ or Xen. That way you can separate the web server from the mail server (for example) and allocate specific resources (e.g. RAM) to each VM.

3. Auriferous

Auriferous New Member