Contact Form 7 not working on Ubuntu/nginx/ISPconfig 3 server

Discussion in 'Server Operation' started by KZ Amadeus, Jun 2, 2018.

1. KZ Amadeus

KZ Amadeus New Member

Hello, I just followed this tutorial:

https://www.howtoforge.com/tutorial/perfect-server-ubuntu-with-nginx-and-ispconfig-3/

I migrated my shared hosting to my shiny new VPS server. I have to say, I am very very nervous. I am a total beginner to this.

After some tweaking, everything is working - Wordpress, nginx, etc. But I notice on my website Contact Form 7 doesn't work anymore. Basically, when you hit submit to send the contact form, the icon just spins and spins. No error, no nothing. It just doesn't work.

What do I do? Any help would be greatly, greatly appreciated. I'm considering canceling the VPS and going back to shared hosting I am so scared :(

2. Taleman

Taleman Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter

Check PHP and nginx logs to see what happens when submitting. If that does not help, check other logs. Then maybe raise log level to get more verbose logs.

ahrasis likes this.
  3. ztk.me

ztk.me ISPConfig Developer ISPConfig Developer

Well, maybe it is better to use shared hosting or cheap managed server / service maybe. Seems you really can't help yourself with some very basics ... Maybe setup a virtual machine or old notebook as a learning object first before connecting it to hyperspeed.

ahrasis likes this.
  4. KZ Amadeus

KZ Amadeus New Member

where should I start looking? In ISPconfig, a lot of the logs are blank or says it can't access them.

5. Taleman

Taleman Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter

Directory /var/logs. The log directory of the website. Study Ubuntu and ISPConfig manuals.

ahrasis likes this.
  6. KZ Amadeus

KZ Amadeus New Member