Debian 5.10

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by linuxuser1, Oct 28, 2005.

1. linuxuser1

linuxuser1 New Member

I have just installed Debian 5.10 follwing faldo's perfect set up. I have logged in but all I get is the DOS interface. How do I go into graphic/windows interface. I am complete newbie in this linux stuff. I have tried out suse and Fedora but this looks different.

Thanks.

2. falko

falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

I guess you mean Ubuntu 5.10? If you've followed the tutorial, then there's no graphical interface because it describes a server installation, not a desktop installation.

3. linuxuser1

linuxuser1 New Member

Thanks for your reply.

Yes I followed the perfect setup tutorial and it's a server installation for Ubuntu 5.10 Breezy Badger and Debian 3.1.
    How can I now use this through the GUI since I have no experience of using the DOS interface or is it not doable as compared to suse or fedora?

Thanks as always.

Last edited: Oct 28, 2005
  4. falko

Do you want to use your system as a server or also as a desktop system? I mean do you need the desktop to control your server, or to write emails and office documents and so on?

5. linuxuser1

linuxuser1 New Member

Thanks again for your prompt reply. Ideally I will use the machine as a Server but since I do not have the experience of the linux commands at least until am proficient, I will like to use the GUI /desktop to control/manage the Server.

Thanks.

6. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Yes, and thats why there is ISPConfig isnstalled. You can manage all functions nescessary for webhosting through the webbased ISPCOnfig controlpanel.

7. linuxuser1

linuxuser1 New Member

Thanks as always,

The tutorial said I should Edit /etc/network/interfaces and others. How should call this from the DOS interface.

Thanks.

8. falko

9. linuxuser1

linuxuser1 New Member

I am still lost as to how to modify my network card file to look like this