debian, lvm, raid, grub, custom kernel

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by koi, Jul 30, 2007.

1. koi

koi New Member

Hi I have a problem.
    I have a debian etch stable.
    I made this setup:
    3 hd.
    3 x 1 gb for /boot raid 1 (out of lvm)
    3 x 15 gb for / raid 5 (lvm)
    3 x 20 gb for /home raid 5 (lvm)
    3 x 256 mb for swap raid 5 (lvm)

I made all during the installation process. I have used lvm on raid 5 partitions.
    I have never used lvm before, "only" raid.

The problem is that i have always recompiled kernel by vanilla sources, and i never used initrd cause the "important" things i am usual to put "built in " in the kernel configuration.

This time, with lvm, it doesn't work:
    so: Do I have left something out of the kernel? (is dm-mod the part about lvm, right?) ?
    Do I need initrd the same?

The error I get during boot is (after raid is corretly started):
    VFS: cannot open root device "mapper/name-of-the-volume" or unknown-block (0,0)
    Please append a correct "root=" boot option
    md0 (driver?)*
    kernel panic not syncing vfs: unable to mount root fs on unknown-block (0,0)

* md0 is the raid 5 metadevice

Thans in advance.

2. falko

falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff

I'd create an initrd and try again to see if it works then.

3. agrimstad

agrimstad New Member

Similar set up, similar problem

Like the originator of this thread, I created logical volumes on top of software raid when I installed etch. Now I want to build my own kernel. I followed the steps in "How To Compile A Kernel - Debian Etch."

The new kernel fails to boot because it can't find the root file system, which is a logical volume on top of a raid5 md. The first error diagnostic is "mdadm: no devices listed in conf file were found"