Dev Environment for ISPConfig

Discussion in 'Developers' Forum' started by pyte, Sep 13, 2023.

1. pyte

pyte Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter

Hi,
    i'm very new to contribution to large projects and was wondering how some of you test their patches.
    After making my changes within my forked ispconfig repo how do i test them? Right now i have a test machine with ISPConfig installed where i copy over the files that i've changed and test them there, but that seems like a lot of hassel especially for testing minor fixed or changes.

Is there a comfy way to test changes? Some insights from experienced devs would be great :)

Last edited: Sep 13, 2023
  2. michelangelo

michelangelo Active Member

I'm testing my code via VMs and occasionally via a physical server in my local network.
    In certain cases I wish I had a fully fletched ready to use CI/CD environment for my code changes, so that I don't have to copy/sync/checkout the changes everytime again.

For less demanding situations VMs + Snapshots + a gitted /usr/local/ispconfig might be the way to go.

ahrasis likes this.
  3. pyte

Thank you for the insight :)
    As long it is no issue that the automated certificate creation does not work a Dockerimage could be possible too. I might give that a try too.

4. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer