DMARC move

Discussion in 'ISPConfig 3 Priority Support' started by jpcyrenne, Oct 26, 2020.

1. jpcyrenne

jpcyrenne Member HowtoForge Supporter

Good day,
    I will most probably install a (Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS (Focal Fossa)) ISPConfig 3.2 setup.

I'm a bit new to DMARC and I'm wondering if I can set up a second server and import the DMARC config/key from a Plesk server to an ISPConfig? I need this to go very smooth and I'd like to test the new server before I transfer the A Records and MX. (I can add the new IP in TXT v=spf1)

I also have the migration tool, would this help? (just for emails. The sites are going on another server)

Thanks,

JP

2. Th0m

Th0m ISPConfig Developer Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Hi JP,

Do you mean the DKIM key?
    If so, iirc it should be imported from Plesk when using the migration tool.
    @Croydon might be able to confirm that.

Have you already ran a dry run with the migration to see if it works without any errors?
    You can find a how-to for the migration tool here: https://www.howtoforge.com/tutorial...-confixx-plesk-to-ispconfig-31-single-server/

3. jpcyrenne

I have used the Migration tool in the past but from older ISPConfig to ISPconfig 3.1 (so far). Will be my 1st migration to 3.2 from Plesk. I only need to migrate the emails.

I am inquiring about DMARC (Domain-based Message Authentication) because I see a TXT Record int hte present DNS (_dmarc.site.com).
    From reading, I understand that this is Reporting and Conformance (DMARC) that ties the SPF and DKIM (default._domainkey.site.com. most probably) protocols together with a consistent set of policies.

I will need to have the same key for DKIM then.

Can I set up DKIM with ISPConfig and then copy a key/file over manually?)

---
    This is all in preparation. I'll set up the new server and see what the challenges really are.

Not sure how I can test it?
    add the IP in the new server IP in the TXT v=spf1... (allow it to be a sender for the domain)