DNS and Domain name from 123.reg

Discussion in 'General' started by scorpious, Jan 25, 2011.

1. scorpious

scorpious Member

Hi All

I am new to ISPConfig 3 so I need a few questions answered that I am unsure about.

I have followed the instructions to install Debian 5 and ISPConfig3

The Perfect Server – Debian Lenny (Debian 5.0) With MyDNS & Courier, I have installed ISPConfig 3.0.3.1 everything is workin fines, I am doing local testing at home using No-IP.

I have a Domain Name with 123.reg, just the name not the webhosting, do I enter the dns1 and dns2 information from 123.reg into the DNS page for the Domain name to resolve to my machine and what other information do I need.

What is best to use MyDns or Bind as there are two Perfect Server - Debian 5 tutorials, I have noticed reading through the Forums that some perfer to use BIND and not MyDNS.

Once I have finished local testing I am hopeing to get the server in a Data Center local to me.

Cheers

Scorp

Last edited: Jan 26, 2011
  2. falko

falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff

Does 123.reg provide the nameservers for your domain? In this case you don't need to run your own nameservers with ISPConfig, you can use the 123.reg web interface to manage your DNS records.

3. scorpious

scorpious Member

Hi falco

Yes I have two Nameservers

Nameserver 1 and Nameserver 2 are the same address

I have changed the @ and www IP to my own IP

I am able to view my site with www.myhost.co.uk and view it without the www infront of the domain name.

Cheers

Scorp

Last edited: Jan 27, 2011
  4. falko

Can you post your domain name so that I can check?

5. scorpious

scorpious Member

Hi falko

I have sent you a pm with the domain

Cheers

Scorp

Last edited: Jan 27, 2011
  6. rwinslow

rwinslow New Member

Helping hand

Hi there, I work for 123-reg, if you want me to check the settings on our side, DM me the domain name, two name servers and IP addresses, I can then check that out for you.

Richard.

7. falko

Code: