DNS/gateway config question running smoothwall w/suse server

Discussion in 'Technical' started by riggs, Jan 5, 2009.

1. riggs

riggs New Member

Ok so while I am new to linux I do understand the basics about networking. That said, does anyone have any idea why I am unable to get the network connection working?

Running smoothwall

orange -192.168.90.1
    red- dhcp from qwest router currently 192.168.0.4
    purple - 192.168.10.1
    green - 192.168.50.1

standard 4 interface install with smoothwall all other networks work fine, I am currently going through the 'perfect server suse 9.3' tutorial using suse 10.0 I tried to run the internet connection wizard and it cannot connect to the update database on the orange interface.

I switch it to the green and it works fine, I'm assuming this is a smoothwall issue but it says connections from orange interface are allowed and since it works on the green I'm at a loss.

on green - suse box ip=192.168.50.100 gateway=192.168.50.1 dns 192.168.50.1 ---works (switched cables to run through green interface)

on orange - suse box ip=192.168.90.100 gateway=192.168.90.1 dns 192.168.90.1 ---does not work (put cable to orange interface on smoothwall box)

since this is a server running in a dmz i get that i can't talk to it from the green interface but is there something i'm missing here?

thanks

Last edited: Jan 5, 2009
  2. falko

falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff

Can you ping outside IP addresses from orange (e.g.
    Code:
    ping -c2 72.14.205.100
    )? If so, it is probably a DNS issue, and you'd have to use different nameservers in /etc/resolv.conf.

3. riggs

riggs New Member

Hardware

Well I discovered 2 things while fixing this problem:

1. Smoothwall will probe, find, and assign a driver to a nic card that is not supported lol

2. The DNS information you enter must be your ISPs DNS not your smoothwall box interface port from the orange interface.