DNS not working in ISPconfig3 cluster

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by archange, Sep 6, 2010.

1. archange

archange New Member

Hi,

Thank you for having me on the Forums.
    I am a Linux beginner, however, I have followed the "HowtoForge" guides with great interest and finally I decided to use ISPconfig3 for my hosting needs.

I installed ISPconfig3 on Centos 5.5 x64 using this guide: http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-server-centos-5.5-x86_64-ispconfig-3-p3

Additionally, I needed to start running my own DNS and I proceeded adding to ISPconfig3 two more servers, configured as slaves.

I have registered ns1, ns2 and ns3 with my registrar (not GoDaddy though), according to this guide:

http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy

After they have propagated, I added the DNS zones in the control panel. The next day, when issuing the following command I get:

Code:
    # dig @ns1.arenahosting.org any arenahosting.org
    ; <<>> DiG 9.3.6-P1-RedHat-9.3.6-4.P1.el5_4.2 <<>> @ns1.arenahosting.org any arenahosting.org
    ; (1 server found)
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

I can see no errors in ISPconfig3 panel, nor at systems' innitialisation.

Can anyone please help me out?

Thank you for your patience, time and understanding.

2. damir

damir New Member

What DNS software are you using and is it running? Do you have firewall, maybe port 53 is closed?

3. archange

archange New Member

Servers are running BIND9, chrooted. Firewall is disabled atm. I just restarted the named service and it appears to be running fine.

4. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Please make sure that you configured BIND to start at boot time. The command is:

chkconfig --levels 235 named on

5. archange

archange New Member

I remember doing that during the setup and the service is indeed running; I just rebooted the server once again - this is the bind status output: