DNS puzzle ...

Discussion in 'Tips/Tricks/Mods' started by John Ford, Feb 19, 2010.

1. John Ford

John Ford New Member

I'm relatively new to dns so bear with me. BTW Ispconfig 3 is awesome. I use intodns.com to test my dns setup.

My puzzle is this.

I have two servers running ispconfig. server 1 and server 2 - server 2 is for testing and as a slave name server so ns2.server2.com

My main site is also the name of my machine so domain.com is served by server1.domain.com

When I use A records to redirect ns1 or ns2 designations within my network;
    ns1 to machine server1.domain.com and ns2 to server2.domain.com I can only us my external ip address. If I use internal the internal address intodns.com flags an error as mismatched ip addresses.

Am I missing a record or something? Should I use for instance A record
    ns1.server1.com server1.domain.com and A record ns2.server2.com server2.domain.com?

Last edited: Feb 19, 2010
  2. falko

falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

If you use local IP addresses for your DNS records, nobody from outside your LAN will be able to access your sites, that's why you must use public IP addresses.

3. John Ford

John Ford New Member

Perhaps then I am a bit confused. Can you designate ns1.server1.com and ns2.server1.com? Can you attach two name servers to one machine? I thought that different name servers had to be on different machines or a least should be for redundancy or backup.

4. falko

falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

Technically yes. The question is if your registrar accepts this.

That's how it is meant to be.

5. Toucan

Toucan Member

Hi John

I've been through a similar scenario myself.