DNSSEC Denial-of-existence warnings

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by remkoh, Jun 10, 2024.

1. remkoh

remkoh Active Member

I have a master and slave DNS server (currently running ISPC3.2.11p2) setup hosting multiple domains.
    When I checked DNSSEC config a while ago on https://dnsviz.net all was ok.
    But recently I'm getting warnings about denial-of-existence, referring to RFC 9276.

Long story short it is adviced to use SHA-1, no extra iterations, empty salt for NSEC3 parameters.

When I manually change
    Code:
    domain.tld.    NSEC3PARAM    Standaard    1 0 0 <SALT>
    to
    Code:
    domain.tld.    NSEC3PARAM    Standaard    1 0 0 -
    in my master DNS the warnings go away and all is secure again.

As all domains and records come from ISPConfig I'm not quite sure on how to approach a resolution to get rid of the warnings.

Last edited: Jun 10, 2024
  2. remkoh

remkoh Active Member

I came across line 174 in /usr/local/ispconfig/server/plugins-enabled/bind_plugin.inc.php
    Code:
    $app->system->exec_safe('cd ?; dnssec-signzone -A -e +1382400 -3 $(head -c 1000 /dev/random | sha1sum | cut -b 1-16) -N increment -o ? -K ? -t ?', $dns_config['bind_keyfiles_dir'], $domain, $dns_config['bind_keyfiles_dir'], $dns_config['bind_zonefiles_dir'].'/'.$filespre.$domain);
    hoping it could solve the warnings.
    Unfortunately changing it to
    Code:
    $app->system->exec_safe('cd ?; dnssec-signzone -A -e +1382400 -3 - -N increment -o ? -K ? -t ?', $dns_config['bind_keyfiles_dir'], $domain, $dns_config['bind_keyfiles_dir'], $dns_config['bind_zonefiles_dir'].'/'.$filespre.$domain);
    does solve the initial warnings but also creates errors instead.

3. remkoh

remkoh Active Member

Side question:
    What's the reason to deviate from 14 days expiration, which is default for Bind, to 16 days?

Last edited: Jun 12, 2024
  4. remkoh

remkoh Active Member

Nevermind the earlier mentioned errors. Seems to maybe have been a caching thing.