Document Root - Where should I place my domain's files?

Discussion in 'General' started by mezelf, Jun 14, 2016.

1. mezelf

mezelf Member

Hello,
    I am new to ISPConfig3. I have installed ISPConfig3 version 3.0.5.4p9 on Debian 8. I have Apache 2.4.10 running.
    My steps have been:
    1- I have added mysite (hierafter `mysite1DOTcom` - I can't write it properly because forum message says I can't include links in my post) via the ISPConfig3 'Sites' tab.
    2- I have checked /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/100-mysite1DOTcom.vhost and saw that DocumentRoot is: /var/www/mysite1DOTcom/web (as opposed to my expectation of /var/www/html). Hence I have placed my site code directory below the DocumentRoot. Hence it now looks like:
    /var/www/mysite1DOTcom/web/mysite1DOTcom
    I have deleted other files and directories under /var/www/mysite1DOTcom/web.
    I made sure that mysite1DOTcom under /var/www/mysite1DOTcom/ web/ and everything under that have the owner and group of www-data and checked that indeed this is what Apache has in its environment variables file.
    3- But when I type mysite1DOTcom or wwwDOTmysite1DOTcom on the browser, I am getting:
    Error 403 Forbidden
    You don't have permission to access / on this server.
    Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
    Apache/2.4.10 (Debian) Server at wwwDOTmysite1DOTcom Port 80

Obviously, I made a mistake somewhere... I appreciate your help please!
    Best!

Last edited: Jun 14, 2016
  2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Just copy the files into the "web" folder of your website. And files of a website are owned by the user and group of this website, this is never www-data. Never chown them to www-data as this will result ina forbidden error.

Creating a website and uploading files is totally easy, jsut dont mess around manually!.

1) Login to ispconfig and create the site.