Dual IPSConfig servers

Discussion in 'General' started by FredZ, Jul 11, 2010.

1. FredZ

FredZ Member

Hello all

Looking at moving away from my current configuration to ISPConfig 3

I have some questions before I attempt this.

Please bare in mind I am very new to all this and am probably not as knowledgeable as I probably should be.

Here is what I would like to achieve.

Primary and secondary servers:
    This means the secondary server is a backup NS/MX server to the primary server. The primary server hosts everything. In actual, fact if I could get the secondary server to be a complete replica of the primary then that would be fantastic as it would mean that if the primary server went down no services would be lost. I suspect there are replication (data consistency) issues if a site was edited whilst the secondary server was the active server.

It would be desirable if the secondary server could host the mail of one of the domains setup on the primary server but all other services remained on the primary server. This would be a local office mail setup.

Currently I am hosting only 10 domains, but I am constantly buying domains. Hosting them myself is far cheaper than having them hosted. Several sites are several gigs in size as they host streaming media.

Is what I am wanting to do capable within ISPConfig 3 and if so, where can I find information that would help me set this up?

Regards

Fred

2. FredZ

FredZ Member

It seems my question probably should have been asked.

I have now built 2 ISPConfig3 servers (identical except for names).

Now I am looking for the docs to tell me how to set things up, like how to manage both servers from a single console, and how to generally configure stuff.

Regards

Fred

3. Romoku

Romoku New Member

I've been messing around with the ISPConfig. I at least know how to mirror it.

On your second server, if you have ispconfig installed, uninstall it. Run the installer again in expert mode.