E-mail Configuration

Discussion in 'General' started by oakleeman, Oct 30, 2006.

1. oakleeman

oakleeman New Member

I know that this topic has been covered many, many times as I've been reading & re-reading the threads & documentation for several weeks now and still can't grasp how e-mail is supposed to be configured.

I'm not a newbie to e-mail & webhosting as I've been administering a Windows based Hosting Controller/MailEnable setup for three years. MailEnable allows me to have [email protected] as the login and that's what I've become used to. I am somewhat of a newbie to Linux, but I can follow well laid out instructions such as the "Perfect Setups".

I followed the perfect setup for Centos 4.4 on a virtual appliance in a NATed environement behind an EFW firewall. I'm using 1to1 port forwarding to get from my external IP to my internal IP. So far I'm only using web & FTP as I'm not ready to transfer DNS & email into my NAT and everything is working great.

So on to my e-mail questions. The biggest problem I'm having is understanding how the e-mail logins are configured. I think I understand that the e-mail login ties in to a unix username.

I'd rather not use a prefix at all, but if I happen to have two users by the name of "John Smith" and want to maintain consistency among usernames I have to have one. I've changed the prefix of my accounts from web[WEBID]_ to [DOMAIN]_. This allows me to have [email protected] & [email protected] but I think I might possibly run into problems if the combined domain name & username have more than 32 characters.

When I configure an outlook client it doesn't let me login with these e-mail addresses, instead I have to use domain.com_jsmith as the username. This is confusing since the Squirrelmail package allows a user to login with the e-mail address. Is using the e-mail as the login not possible or did I configure something wrong? What does editing /usr/lib/sasl2/smtpd.conf accomplish?