email receiving problem. again :(

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by OneMoreLie, Jun 5, 2007.

1. OneMoreLie

OneMoreLie New Member

First of all hi, glad to be joining this community.
    Well i sucefully installed centOS following the great guide made by Falko Timme. Everything works smoothly except the fact that i cannot receive emails, i've searched through the forums for help basides the fact of finding a lot of similar threads i could not fix the problem, so any help here will be very apreciated.
    I'm no expert in tcp and internet stuff so i do not really understand all the Co-Domains, DNS, Records settings so i'm really confusing about setting things up.
    Just to set things simple, I've registered a domain, let's say it's www.xyz.com and everything works fine, i've created an email account called [email protected], i can sucefully log in to it using Uebimiau, can send but not receive emails. Keep in mind that all my dns, records and co-domains have no settings, i've tried some settings myself, all non-working, and ended up clearing them all to start things from scratch.
    Now when i try to send emails to [email protected] using a gmail.com account i get the email back saying: PERM_FAILURE: DNS Error: DNS server returned answer with no data.

Any sugestions?

Thanks.

2. edge

edge Active Member Moderator

If you have no DNS MX settings, how will the mail send by some person at the other end of the world, or send by your neighbour know where to go?

Basically you could compare a DNS as a phone book. Some person wants to see your page. It will type www.xyz.com in the browsers address bar. That persons ISP DNS will do a "lookup" on www.xyz.com, and make the connection with the server running www.xyz.com (again. This is only a basic explanation of how a DNS works)