Fedora 6 & VMware server

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by chejose, Mar 14, 2007.

1. chejose

chejose New Member

I did an installation of VMware server on Fedora 6, following the "Howto" instructions. All went well, with no errors, including the configuration. But..

1 - It takes 4.5 minutes for the console to open (during various trial runs).

2 - I wanted to set up a Win 2K installation. But it opens up to a black screen with no cursor. In other words, no way to process the created HD. I tried it twice, both with the same result, so there are two incomplete installations waiting. The row of buttons is also faded out.

I am fairly new to Linux, so please put any answer in "simple" terms.
    Many thanks

2. falko

falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff

Are there any errors in the logs in the /var/log directory? What's the output of
    Code:
    uname -a
    ?

3. chejose

chejose New Member

Thanks for getting back to me!

I looked through the log, and only found the following that is close to an error.The rest seems to have gone OK

Mar 15 07:36:11: app| UndopointGetSuspendState failed Failed to read from snapshot helper fd.
    Mar 15 07:36:11: app| .
    Mar 15 07:36:11: app| UndopointHasIndependentDisks failed Failed to read from snapshot helper fd.

[root@localhost jose]# uname -a
    Linux localhost.localdomain 2.6.20-1.2925.fc6 #1 SMP Sat Mar 10 19:15:16 EST 2007 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

Jose

4. chejose

chejose New Member

Falko:

I just made another try at opening VMserver and the consel simply did not open. There was nothing in the log for the attempt.

But looking at the log, I realize now that it is the boot up sesion that I made this morning, and not the last time I tried to open the consel. The end of the log says:

Mar 15 07:36:11: app| VM suddenly changed state: poweredOff.
    Mar 15 07:36:11: app| VM suddenly changed state: poweredOff.
    Mar 15 07:36:11: app| impersonate Impersonate_Undo called when refCount == 0