Fedora Core 5 Setup copy-paste using PuTTY

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by dadio, May 19, 2006.

1. dadio

dadio New Member

Hi!

I'm new to linux! I want to install Fedora Core 5 using the HowTo for it.

It says "This is a "copy & paste" HowTo! The easiest way to follow this tutorial is to use a command line client/SSH client (like PuTTY for Windows) and simply copy and paste the commands..."

But how can I connect using PuTTY from a Windows environment to an SSH server if I'm installing Fedora on a fresh system? The Disk is formatted, there is no SSH server installed...

Do I use PuTTY only for configuration?? from what point in the setup??

Tks!

dadio.

2. tristanlee85

tristanlee85 New Member

Just go by the GUI setup proceedure. Insert CD1 or the DVD if you are using it. Once it boots up to the Fedora screen, type "linux" and it'll boot to the GUI install. There isn't anything command line in your situation that I can think of.

3. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

You can use putty after you finished the initial install steps from CD / DVD and the network and SSH server are configured.

4. dadio

dadio New Member

Ok, tks! I will start the install and will update if i get an issue.

dadio.

5. dadio

dadio New Member

Ok, I finished the GUI instal steps, but now I'm trying to connect from a windows system to the machine using Putty, but it won't work. How do I configure SSH server??

Is the network configuration just the sections 2 and 3 of the Howto at the following link?? http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_fedora_core_5_p3

tks for the help!

dadio.

6. dadio

dadio New Member

Hi!

I was able to connect to my Fedora machine from windows system using Putty.

But, now when I connect, i log in and after about 30 seconds, I get the putty fatal error "software caused connection abort" and I lose my connection. This happens every time I connect.