FTP and Protocol

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by linuxuser1, Oct 10, 2005.

1. linuxuser1

linuxuser1 New Member

Great Setup writeup. As a complete novice in unix/linux I have not manged to get the system going following the setup procedures. But I have few questions.

1. When I click on the Web-FTP and put in the username and password, I keep getting errors. Is there is anything that I need to do?

2. On the Server services page, it shows that only the MySql service is Online while others, FTP, Mail DNS Web are offline while they are all showing "ON". I have click restart and save it but no luck. Is there any other place I can check to get this showing "Online".

Thanks for your kind help.

Linuxuser1

2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Which errors?

Are they showing only not online or are they not working hwen you connet with an FTP or email client?

3. falko

falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

Make sure you don't mix up ISPConfig users (clients and resellers; they can only login to ISPConfig) and system users (they are created on the tab "User & Email") and can use services such as ftp, email, etc.

4. linuxuser1

linuxuser1 New Member

They are showing
    Web-Server:
    FTP-Server:
    SMTP-Server:
    POP3-Server:
    BIND-Server:
    mySQL-Server:

I have about four web sites on this machine so I will assume that at least the Web Server which i can connect to both inside and outside the network is working. As you can see above, only the mySQL is showing Online.

I have tried to log on to the FTP using the Web_FTP, I put in the username and password and it does,t connect.

Thanks

5. linuxuser1

linuxuser1 New Member

What I have done is to create a user in a client's to enable them log on to ISPConfig which they can do. I have also created a user under ISP site and they are prefix with web1_name of client. When I click on Web_FTP and put in the username and password, I get the following: