getting started

Discussion in 'Suggest HOWTO' started by expaddy, Mar 21, 2013.

1. expaddy

expaddy New Member

ok please excuse the noob question.
    I have been playing around with linux for a few years on and off and really don't seem to get too far but recently I have a hankering for getting in to linux and learning it properly. So this site was suggested as a good starting point for projects to work through whilst learning and I must say I am impressed there is a lot of good well explained documentation here. However, I am a little confused as to where to start, I don't want to take on anything too grand and put myself off the whole thing. So is it possible that some kind soul could make a list of the first 20 projects and installations that some one wanting to learn linux properly should do. I currently run cent os as my linux machine, (virtual).

Once again sorry if this is too much of a noob question for this forum.

2. expaddy

expaddy New Member

Excuse me?

3. falko

falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

What exactly are you trying to do with the system? Will it serve as a web server, mail server, virtualization platform, etc.?

4. expaddy

expaddy New Member

Well there actually is no server it's virtual what I am asking is where would be the best place to start with projects of any kind to really get to know the system.

So any projects, just ones that a beginner could tackle and learn from.

5. ImRaptor

ImRaptor New Member

Setup a webserver with heartbeat and GlusterFS. Easy to test and you'll learn HB and Gluster which are two things that can become very useful IMO.

6. expaddy

expaddy New Member

thx muchly

7. Illilatommofs

Illilatommofs New Member