Hardware configuration for debian server

Discussion in 'Technical' started by TheRudy, Apr 14, 2006.

1. TheRudy

TheRudy ISPConfig Developer ISPConfig Developer

Hey!

First off, sorry is this is wrong topic, hope its not cause i coudn't fit it into any other category.

I'm in process of buying/building a custom server, not high end but something to start with, something that costs around $1200. Was thinking of some version of AMD Athlon 64 with 2 gigs of ram and 2 SATA drives for RAID 1 with either Debian or Ubuntu for server.

I'm not an expert or anything when it comes to hardware so putting this server together with the right components is hard for me. Anyone here who can suggest me a builded custom server for that price or even list me all the important components (MB, CPU, what kind of ram,...). Oh, buying Dell, HP or anyother branded server is not an option so don't suggest that please ;)

Also important is that Debian supports all the hardware in case i go with Debian cause well, Ubuntu is not really server based distro yet..

Any suggestions?

2. falko

falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

We have a server with an AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Dual Core, 2GB memory and 2 160GB SATA drives from Samsung which is configured for software RAID. This server is running Debian, and it's quite fast. :)

3. TheRudy

Great, what kind of motherboard do you have?

4. Hans

Hans Moderator ISPConfig Developer

My server is maybe a little out of your budget but you will have value for money: Dell SC1425 dual Xeon 1 GB memory and 2 SATA drives 250 GB each. Debian Sarge works nice on this system. I tried Ubuntu 5.10 too but i had problems with the partitioning and RAID 1 configuration.

Hint: when you start setting up Debian use the command "linux26" because the default 2.4 kernel does not support SATA drives.

This how to: http://www.howtoforge.com/linux_software_raid works for my system.

Use, Debian on the server & Ubuntu on a desktop if you ask me.

Hans