Help for a totally noob on ISPconfig

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by dodimar, Jun 19, 2009.

1. dodimar

dodimar New Member

Hi, sorry if this post is inappropriate.

I was trying to read the documentation but I am boggled.

I was able to setup ISPconfig 2 on a server with a single IP xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx on domain.co.cc (I used co.cc domain)

now, the big question I have is, what will be my next step. The guide on howtoforge's "ISPConfig 2.x - First Steps (Creating Web Sites, Email Addresses, Etc.)" is a bit unclear for me.

I was able to set up a client but when I logged in as a client, there were no options to add a website...

Also, if may domain is domain.co.cc, can I just set ns1.domain.co.cc, etc.. for name server?

thanks very much..

Just want to emphasize that this is my first attempt on having full control of a VPS.. i've been a webclient before but only as a customer (CPanel). Please help..

Edit:

By the way, this is on a production server, not on a local network.

Last edited: Jun 19, 2009
  2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Client logins are for managing existing websites. To create a website you use the admin or a reseller login.

Yes and no. You can use ns1.domain.co.cc as hostaname of the dns server of the domain domain.co.cc but you will have to make sure that ns1.domain.co.cc exists as a dns A-Record pointing to the IP of the server and you will have to ask your provider to create a glue record for it as ns1.domain.co.cc is a subdomain of domain.co.cc

3. dodimar

dodimar New Member

Ah, so website will be created under reseller then... thanks for that..

Now as for the name server part.. how do I do that..

I have domain.co.cc, it is pointing to the IP of my server.... could I use this method: point domain.co.cc to afraid.org's name servers; then under afraid.org, point domain.co.cc to my server IP and create subdomains (ns1, ns2, etc) pointing to my server IP?

Thanks..

4. till