How to encrypt user's plain text email password for ispconfig.

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by rob_morin, Jul 8, 2015.

1. rob_morin

rob_morin Member

Hello all... I am migrating some users(about 200) from one server to ispconfig... i have both their plain text and encrypted passwords available to me. When i update the user's password field in the database wit the encrypted one, it does not work even after a sync of the email boxes under tools. I am no encryption expert so i am not sure how it works ...
    Current encrypted password look like this, they al end with a ==(the salt?)
    iBToh9LME5GhF0Hfwuaezw==
    Since they do not work i was thinking of just encrypting the clear text into crypt??

Suggestions?

Thanks...

2. florian030

florian030 ISPConfig Developer ISPConfig Developer

If you have the clear passwords, i would use them ;)

3. rob_morin

rob_morin Member

How would i then ecnrypt the password? Using what command?

Thanks buddy..

4. rob_morin

rob_morin Member

ok so doing this
    openssl passwd -crypt some_passwd
    gives me this
    alCD5A7r.XXa.

When i insert this into mysql under the user's login field in mail_users and try to login in with his email address and the password some_password in webmail as a test it does not work....

Ideas?

5. florian030

florian030 ISPConfig Developer ISPConfig Developer

UPDATE mail_user SET passwort = md5('clear-passowrd') WHERE email = 'email';

6. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

I would recommend to use a password with salt, you can use e.g. this PHP function:

Code:
    public function crypt_password($cleartext_password) {
            $salt="$1$";
            $base64_alphabet='ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZabcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz0123456789+/';
            for ($n=0;$n<8;$n++) {
                $salt.=$base64_alphabet[mt_rand(0, 63)];
            }
            $salt.="$";
            return crypt($cleartext_password, $salt);
        }

7. rob_morin