How To install AWN on Yellow Dog Linux 6.0 for PS3

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by reddy1980, Apr 10, 2008.

1. reddy1980

reddy1980 New Member

I am new at linux. I have been trying to figure out a way to install AWN on YDL 6.0 for PS3 with no luck. Any help or suggestions will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

2. zcworld

zcworld New Member

ok
    what is AWN

and URL for it
    maybe i can help out

> dont have yellowdog and an PS3 to play with <

3. reddy1980

reddy1980 New Member

AWN (Avant-Window-Navigator) is a dock-like navigation bar for the linux desktop that positions itself at the bottom of the screen. It can be used to keep track of open windows and behaves like a normal window list. With enhance features such as 3-D, Bouncing, shaded icons, as well as it keeps track of open window.
    AWN Main Page: http://wiki.awn-project.org/Main_Page
    AWN being used for MAC4Lin theme can be found here section 10.1 of this how to tutorial: http://howtoforge.org/mac4lin_make_linux_look_like_a_mac_p3 which is a tutorial found in this site as an example.

4. falko

falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff

I've never used Yellow Dog Linux, so I'm afraid I can't help... :(

5. reddy1980

reddy1980 New Member

Yellow dog is based on the fedora/centos project so if you can create a rpm that works on fedora 6 or 7 of the AWN it can probably work on yellow dog linux 6.0. Let me know.

6. o.meyer

o.meyer New Member Moderator

Hi reddy1980,

the official Fedora 8 repository provides packages for AWN (currently version 0.2.6-8) - maybe they'll also work on Yellow Dog Linux.

Code:
    avant-window-navigator
    avant-window-navigator-devel
    awn-extras-applets
    Packages for Fedora 7 (currently version 0.2-1) can be found at http://users.csc.calpoly.edu/~admiller/repo/pub/i386/ .

Best regards,

Olli

7. reddy1980

reddy1980 New Member