How to set Microsoft Outlok Express

Discussion in 'General' started by fswolf, Aug 19, 2008.

1. fswolf

fswolf New Member

Hi, I'm sorry for this stupid question but I'm completely new in linux. I installed ISPconfig with perfect setup on howtoforge.com. I created my new email [email protected] and I want to use that with Microsoft Outlok Expres. But I don't know what is my pop3 server and smtp server. What should I right there? Thanks a lot!

Last edited: Aug 23, 2008
  2. edge

edge Active Member Moderator

If you did not setup an a record for POP3 and SMTP, than just use the IP address of the server.

3. JeGr

JeGr Member

If you did nothing otherwise with your server, you should have a domain name it runs with, right? You can either add DNS records for that domain (A or CNAME, doesn't matter that much) with names like POP3 and SMTP and point them to the IP the server runs on. Then you can use those for the mail program of your choice.
    If you just want to enter a setting either use the domain, ISPconfig is running on (you set one up during the perfect setup, right?) or use the IP adress of the server.

Greets Grey

4. fswolf

fswolf New Member

Nothing changed

in my DNS I have only:
    A 213.194.204.14 mydomain.com

I wrote to Outlook Expres:
    POP3 server: 213.194.204.14
    SMTP server: 213.194.204.14

but styl it doesent work. Anyone know what is wrong?
    (IP is only for example)

when I try to send anything I see the following error msg:

The message could not be sent because one of the recipients was rejected by the server. The rejected e-mail address was '[email protected]'. Subject 'test' , Account: '213.194.204.14', Server: '213.194.204.14', Protocol: SMTP, Server Response: '554 5.7.1 <[email protected]>: Relay access denied', Port: 25, Secure(SSL): No, Server Error: 554, Error Number: 0x800CCC79

5. edge

Did you enable "My outgoing server (SMTP) requires autentication" in Outlook Express fot the email account?

6. fswolf

fswolf New Member