How to set up file server

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by tburrows, Mar 16, 2008.

1. tburrows

tburrows New Member

I am new to Linux. I am trying to set up a file server where we can store pictures, music, videos, etc. I want to be able to have my daughter in Arizona to have access. From what I've gathered, I need to have a partion formatted in NTFS. I have a 160GB hard drive I have divided into 5 partitions. 1 partion is for windows xp pro, 1 partion formated as a NTFS drive.
    I am using Ubuntu 7.1 file server. I have a / partion /swap partion and a /home partition.
    I followed to how-to's on setting up a Samba file server and I cannot get it to work. The server shows up in windows but I cannot access it.

Any help would be appreciated.:confused:

2. edge

edge Active Member Moderator

I needed to setup a file server some time ago and used the "Set Up A Fileserver For Small/Medium Enterprises With SME Server 7.1" setup.
    It was really easy, and it's working great. (It's a all in one CD install, and will/should take you about 10 minutes to setup.)

It's even got a VPN option so that users can access files through a VPN (more secure).

The howto link is: http://www.howtoforge.com/fileserver_with_sme_server7.1

Maybe it's of some use to you.

Last edited: Mar 16, 2008
  3. tburrows

tburrows New Member

Will SME work on an AMD64 processor? Couldn't really find an answer and the iso's were for i386.

4. edge

5. tburrows

tburrows New Member

Installed it with no problems. Have some files I am playing with to learn with. Next thing is to figure out how my daughter can vpn in.

Thanks.

6. edge

(1) In Vista, make sure that she has an internet connection, and go to start > Connect to, and select "Set up a connection or network".
    (2) Now select "Connect to a workplace" and click next.
    (3) Select "Use my Internet connection (VPN)"
    (4) In the Internet address enter your WAN IP (the IP shown when going to www.whatisyourip.com)