Howtoforge Debian prefect server ispconfig 3 - point /webmail to whole domain

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by alogoC, Sep 1, 2009.

1. alogoC

alogoC New Member

It's a very nice and useful tutorial...though i want to make my squirremail point to whole domain!

Example:

mail.mydomain.com/webmail

To be :

mail.mydomain.com

It's not very handy to have to put the /webmail in the end.I think it has to do with apache2 configuration...but i am a bit newbie to do it myself :eek:

If anyone could help...thanks! :)

2. matey

matey New Member

look under /etc and squirrelmail/config_default.php
    also when I used grep I got this;
    so I assume it is in the file /etc/squirrelmail/apache.conf

not sure tho I am a noob as well.
    good luck.

PS Always make a backup copy of the files you want to edit (first) and put them in your home directory for safe keeping.

3. m411b

m411b New Member

I did what you suggested matey but no change. Is there anything else I can do?

4. matey

matey New Member

No I am sorry I am not very good at the stuff, but may be someone else can help?
    F A L K O ??

He is the authority on these things around here :)
    I am not at work so I am stuck here with this windows machine :(
    Good Luck!

(but just thinking out loud):...
    There are few config files like apache or httpd.conf or etc.. plus the configuration files for webmail I know you can change your ports etc, and your question is really a valid 1 and I think it is related to your web services settings, cuz I have seen it happen before where you didnt not have to point to /webmail/ or whatever...
    this is really the way the web stuff is set up, they usually point to /var/www/ as the "root" drive, so may be changing directories would help? ( did that once but it did not work? again I am sure there is a config file some place where you can edit so it points to another folder (of the web stuff) as the root.