Install questions: RAM, Nginx, and database engines

Discussion in 'General' started by befree22, Nov 23, 2014.

1. befree22

befree22 New Member

Hi Folks,

I'm new to ISPConfig which I'm looking to switch to. I have a lot to learn about ISPConfig but here are some main questions I have:

1. How much RAM does ISPConfig require? KloxoMR uses 50MB RAM. I read on webhostingtalk that ISPConfig is a beast and I want to know if it's a RAM hog. My hosting has 2MB RAM allocated on Centos 6. I want to avoid using more than 25% running a control panel with all the services in the ISPConfig package.

2. I will install ISPConfig on an Nginx server instead of Apache. I know that ISPConfig supports PHP5 but is there documentation to support Nginx SSL?

3. How many database engines does ISPConfig use? I know it uses MySQL but does it use InnoDB, MyISAM, etc? I'd prefer use InnoDB.

4. Does ISPConfig have a builtin firewall like CSF Firewall? I'd like to know what system security is in place -- I did check out the admin demo.

Thanks

Last edited: Nov 23, 2014
  2. srijan

srijan New Member HowtoForge Supporter

1Gb RAM is enough.

Yes it supports NGINX reference http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-server-centos-6.4-x86_64-nginx-dovecot-ispconfig-3-p6

It uses Mysql.

ISPConfig uses the bastille-firewall script which uses iptables.

3. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer