Install/use a virtual machine on Ubuntu 8.10

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by DarkArchon, Dec 7, 2008.

1. DarkArchon

DarkArchon New Member

Sorry if this has been done, I've searched for it and can't find exactly what I'm looking for. If it has, all I need is to be pointed in the right direction, if not, I guess you could consider this a request.

First of all, I'm really new at this. I have some experience with Ubuntu desktop and some with SSH. I'm moderately experienced with WAMP setups, and have almost no experience with virtual machines, just to give you an idea of how much technical experience I have.

I've been trying to find a guide on how to setup and use virtual machines in conjunction with a dedicated server. I've found 2 other articles
    how-to-install-vmware-server-2-on-ubuntu-8.10 and
    perfect-server-ubuntu-8.10
    both of which guide me in the right direction, but it still leaves 2 question unanswered.

1) The how to install vmware one seems to work with the desktop version of 8.10. I'm doing all this over ssh, is there any guides out there that deal with installing a virtual machine over ssh?

2) Once installed (here comes the how to use part), how do you use the virtual machine over ssh? How may vmachines can be run at once? How do you start/log into these? etc. I have a bunch of questions, most of them I can probably figure out on my own if I can get the first question answered.