Is it possible with ISPconfig?

Discussion in 'General' started by som3body, Apr 14, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. som3body

som3body Member

I have a dedicated server with 2 public IP's and Proxmox installed as a Hypervisor. On this server is NO Ispconfig installed.
    Created a VPS and installed ISPConfig. I have used the second public IP for the VM. On the host server there is BIND installed. Now on the virtual machine I would like to use ISPConfig to manage the zones and DNS setting etc. How to achieve, if I make new records or something, its synced wih the host machine? And Is it possible to set all the dns settings for the VM where is the ISPConfig installed via the GUI?

I hope You will understand my problem, my English is not the best and also, I am not a professional system admin.
    Thank You

2. Jesse Norell

Jesse Norell ISPConfig Developer Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Follow the multi-server guide to configure your VPS server as the ispconfig master, with all services running. Then install ispconfig on the host machine as a slave, connecting to the master you already have setup. In ISPConfig gui you would configure it with only DNS service enabled, and "is mirror of server" set to your vps server.

3. Jesse Norell

4. som3body

som3body Member

Thank You for Your Help.
    That sounds logical now.
    On my host server(Bare Metal) I have installed Debian Jessie and as a Hypervisor is Proxmox. On the VPS is also Debian Jessie installed.
    Problem
    #1 - Because the server is dedicated with managed service, I have opened a ticket and they set the bare matal as primary dns server. If I will install Ispconfig over, will it be ok?
    #2 - I did not wanted to install ISPConfig on the host server. However if needed I will install it.