ISP config and staging environment?

Discussion in 'General' started by mbria, Sep 6, 2007.

1. mbria

mbria New Member

Dear all,

This is my first post to this forum and I'm a real newbie in ISPconfig, so sorry in advance if I'm talking rubbish.

I'm working for an office in a public university, mainly with web applications based on free software (Drupal, OJS, moodle...) and I'm designing now our general infrastructure.

The HW scenario is really simple: a development laptop (ubuntu), a testing machine (debian) and a production server (debian).

As I said, my usual work is setting up and extend free soft applications... as well as offer hosting to some fellows that also love to experiment with those applications.

So when I discovered ISPconfig I thought was the perfect environment to work with: I can create those "web spaces" to my fellows letting them play with their favorite toys and I can create my own "web spaces" to deploy my own testings of new soft applications and developments.

I tested ISPconfig on my testing server and I need to say I fall in love (thanks for the wonderful tool) so I also installed in the production server.

The question (and sorry for the long explanation) is:
    Is there any way to "pass to production" or "recover from production" between testing ISPconfig to the production one? Is it possible to be done just for a single website?

I know is a very specific requirement but it's the only thing I miss in ISPconfig to make my life easier. :)

From my complete ignorance, I thought in a few of solutions that I suggest here, just in case any expert can drive me to the right direction:

a) ISPconfig Backup: Is it possible to recover a ISPconfig backup from one server in a different one? If this is right, may be I can develop some simple scripts to extend ISPconfig with this kind of "migration tool". But I'm unsure about DB names and site names or other similar ISP dependencies.