ISPConfig 3 localhost website/subdomains

Discussion in 'General' started by aaron.w.ball, May 14, 2009.

1. aaron.w.ball

aaron.w.ball New Member

Hello all,

I'm new to howtoforge and I must say, I'm very impressed with how organized this place is given the amount of information here. Great job guys!

Now, on to my question. I am currently setting up a webserver (from Falko's ultimate fedora 10 webserver with ispconfig 3 tutorial...Thanks alot by the way) and am having quite the predicament.
    This web server is for an independant study I'm doing on Linux web hosting. It also has the side use of providing a way for a certain professor at my college to teach PHP (right now he's teaching cold fusion and wants to switch to PHP since it's much more widely used). The way I have it planned to be set up is for each student to be a 'client'. Each 'client' has one or two subdomains of localhost that they can use to practice their php code.

The problem here is that I can't figure out how to get ispconfig to set up a domain for localhost itself. When I go to create a website with a domain of localhost, it says that the domain is not valid. I know it's looking for a .<extension>. Is there a way to do what I want?
    Unless I don't understand how ispconfig works, I think what I need is just to be able to set up a main website of localhost and create a lot of subdomains of localhost for each student. Is this correct and if so, is there a way I can do this?

To add a bit more detail here, I don't actually want to purchase any domains. This is only local and won't even be accessible from the outside. It's solely an internal practice location for the students, hence the need for localhost subdomains.

Thanks,
    Aaron

2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

It does not make much sense to setup localhost as a domain as nobody from your network will be able to access it except users that are working directly on the server.