ISPConfig 3 vs. ISPConfig 2

Discussion in 'General' started by Zandooy, May 15, 2009.

1. Zandooy

Zandooy New Member

Hi everyone. I am new to ISPConfig. About a week ago I set up a server and installed ISPConfig 3 with Debian Lenny. I found myself very confused while navigating ISPC3 and could not for the life of me find any useful documentation on ISPC3. I know now that there are currently no useful tutorials or user manuals for ISPC3. Out of complete frustration I did a completely new install of Debian and ISPC2 this time. I followed the "Perfect Server" tutorial for ISPC2 and Debian Lenny as I did last time with ISPC3 and Debian Lenny. I have been using ISPC2 for 2 days now and have been very satisfied with its performance and user friendliness. It is still in the testing phase for me but no problems so far unlike ISPC3. I wish ISPC2 was capable of multiple servers and alias emails like ISPC3 but I don't need that at the moment. I may need to upgrade to ISPC3 later if I don't acquire too many hosting accounts to transfer. In my opinion, ISPC3 needs a complete rewrite. Navigation needs to flow smoothly and the hierarchy and layout of the menu system needs to be rethought. Don't get me wrong, I think the developers have done a fantastic job of creating a FREE Control Panel for server Administrators. I just think they went the wrong direction with the newest version.

Maybe this will help some of you decide which version to install. I didn't have this post to help me so I figured it out the hard way for you.

Thanks again and happy programming!,
    Zandooy

Last edited: May 23, 2009
  2. exn

exn New Member

Hi Zandooy. I'll try version 3 of ispconfig today. It's very big difference between 2 and 3 ? What better ? :)

3. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer