ISPconfig in a home network

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by zenny, Dec 20, 2006.

1. zenny

zenny Member

I am new to ISPconfig and networking.

I installed a home network with an openvz machine. The HN (hardware node) of the machine serves as a firewall (shorewall) and one of the VE (vps) has ISPConfig installed and running. The ISPConfig web interface is accessible from the internet. Now the question is how to configure it such a way that the new tlds inside VE could be accessed from internet, too.

To make my problem clear, the external public IP is 81.xx.xx.xx with two nameservers which has been defined as ns1.tld.domain and ns2.tld.domain in the domain control panel of the domain registrar. The VE has 192.168.1.x. I could not access the internet with the https://tld.domain:81 no matter whatever I change in the server settings (I used the IP of the VE as well as the external IP of the router, does not make any difference).

On the other hand the ISPconfig status shows that postifix mailserver is stopped. Where shall I need to make the changes to make it run?

PS: I have installed v2.2.9 of ISPConfig and initially I installed with localhost.localdomain as a parameter which I want to change to my registered tld.domain. Thank you.

2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Example for creating and running a website domain.tld in ISPConfig:

1) Create a client.
    2) Create a website in ISPConfig for www.domain.tld, select the internal IP of your server for this website.
    3) Make sure you forwarded port 80 on your router to the internal server IP, that you selected for the website.
    4) make sure that the DNS-Records for www.domain.tld are pointing to the external IP of your router.

3. zenny

zenny Member

I did it exactly with the internal IPs specified and also pointed the DNS in the domain control panel (external) to the nameservers specified. Still no luck. :(

4. till