ISPConfig Multiserver setup (public or behind a firewall)

Discussion in 'ISPConfig 3 Priority Support' started by jhonatandiazp, May 4, 2021.

1. jhonatandiazp

jhonatandiazp Member HowtoForge Supporter

Hello everyone,
    I am new to the whole world of linux/hosting. Quick question. For this setup, it is better to have it with public IP, or behind the firewall doing 1:1 one to one mapping? I do not what to start over the setup for my mistake.

Thanks

2. Jesse Norell

Jesse Norell Well-Known Member Staff Member Howtoforge Staff

Public ip is simpler, I'd go that route if it were me.

Th0m likes this.
  3. jhonatandiazp

Thank you. Will do then. I will modify my setup. Thanks

4. ahrasis

ahrasis Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter

Firstly, I think you mean behind NAT (e.g. load balancer, high availability proxy, router etc) and not the normal firewall, because the server setup in ISPConfig guides suggested they are all firewalled except for certain ports that are needed for certain access.

And from what I understand @Jesse Norell said it is simpler (easier) to setup ISPConfig multi servers using their public ip but that doesn't means it is better as I think it depends on various factors.

And being new in this linux world doesn't always mean you are not capable of researching the whole server concept and ISPConfig as its backbone behind NAT or otherwise not.

I'd say keep this discussion opened while you sketch and plan your ISPConfig multi server setup, as in my mind, you might not want all servers to be accessible via its public ip for some reasons.

As you said it yourself:
    ;)

5. jhonatandiazp

Thank you so much for the commend. I have been reading about what will be the best option for me. I do not like to leave my server open to the public. I would like them to be behind a firewall. That is what I am trying to decide, what to do. If I have them behind the firewall, then I will need to use 1:1 to one mapping to be able to forward ports.

6. Th0m