ISPconfig to host multiple domains in one IP with multiple DynDns addresses

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by agelospanagiotakis, Jun 20, 2006.

  1. agelospanagiotakis

    agelospanagiotakis New Member

    Can i use ISPconfig to host multiple domains in one IP with multiple DynDns addresses ?

    how can i make the panel work on these domains for example a.homelinux.org , a.homelinux.org

    I have thse multiple domains pointing throgh DynDNS to my dynamic ip.

    I use a [k] ubuntu 6.06 "perfect setup" with ISPConfig with work perfectly
    under https://a.homelinux.org:81 or https://b.homelinux.org:81
    how can configure ISPconfig to point to directory
    /var/www/web1/web/ for http://a.homelinux.org
    /var/www/web2/web/ for http://b.homelinux.org
     
  2. adamluz

    adamluz New Member

    Set each one up as a domain

    a.homelinux.org
    b.homelinux.org

    ISPConfig will auto create the folders and the config.

    They will be accessable under www.a.homelinux.org and a.homelinux.org
     
  3. agelospanagiotakis

    agelospanagiotakis New Member

    how to do this ?

    Hostname: www ????
    Domain:a.homelinux.org

    i tried it creates the folder but when i acces it i get for
    http://www.agelospanagiotakis.homelinux.org/
    server not found!

    and for
    http://agelospanagiotakis.homelinux.org/
    "Access forbidden!
    You don't have permission to access the requested directory. There is either no index document or the directory is read-protected.

    If you think this is a server error, please contact the webmaster.
    Error 403
    agelospanagiotakis.homelinux.org
    Wed Jun 21 01:34:49 2006
    Apache/2.0.55 (Ubuntu) DAV/2 mod_ssl/2.0.55 OpenSSL/0.9.8a "

    where is the log file of ISPCONFIG?
    where is the vhosts file of ISPCONFIG?
    so i can refer more ....
     
  4. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Because www.agelospanagiotakis.homelinux.org doesn't exist, only agelospanagiotakis.homelinux.org.

    What's in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf? That file is in /etc/httpd/conf or /etc/apache2/conf or similar.
     
  5. agelospanagiotakis

    agelospanagiotakis New Member

    my http conf

    the contents of
    /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/httpd.conf
    contain the fgoolloing important lines
    <IfDefine SSL>
    <VirtualHost _default_:81>
    ServerAdmin [email protected]
    ServerName neomedia.homelinux.org
    DocumentRoot "/home/admispconfig/ispconfig/web"
    <VirtualHost _default_:81>
    # General setup for the virtual host
    DocumentRoot "/home/admispconfig/ispconfig/web"
    ServerName neomedia.homelinux.org
    ServerAdmin [email protected]
    ErrorLog /root/ispconfig/httpd/logs/error_log
    TransferLog /root/ispconfig/httpd/logs/access_log
    SSLEngine on
    <Files ~ "\.(cgi|shtml|phtml|php3?)$">
    SSLOptions +StdEnvVars
    </Files>
    <Directory "/root/ispconfig/httpd/cgi-bin">
    SSLOptions +StdEnvVars
    </Directory>
    </VirtualHost>
    </IfDefine>

    there are also too files
    /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/httpd.conf_https
    and
    /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/httpd.conf_http

    the file
    /etc/apache2/httpd.conf
    is empty ...anything it contains is some comments

    how did him : visit ( www.whittyhost.us.to :) ) - please visit him ! ... did it with ISPconfig ?
     
  6. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    You posted the wrong hhtpd.conf. The ISPConfig webserver is not used to host your webpages. Please post the content of the file Vhosts_ispconfig.conf? That file is in /etc/httpd/conf or /etc/apache2/conf or similar that falko requested.
     
  7. jeskimo5

    jeskimo5 New Member

    different yet similar

    My problem is that when I try to access my site, I get a page that says:
    This IP address is shared. For access to the web site which you look for, enter its address instead of its IP. For questions or problems please contact the server administrator.

    Does any one know how I may remedy this problem, btw, I am also using dyndns domains of the .homelinux.net sort.
     
  8. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Please make sure that you select the internal IP in the website settings, not the external IP.
     
  9. jeskimo5

    jeskimo5 New Member

    Here's this file if it answers your question. Sorry if I'm not more helpful but I'm rather new at this.

    Obviously the website is jeskimo5.homelinux.net


    root@jeskimo5:/etc/apache2/vhosts# vi Vhosts_ispconfig.conf
    ###################################
    #
    # ISPConfig vHost Configuration File
    # Version 1.0
    #
    ###################################
    #
    NameVirtualHost 192.168.1.66:80
    <VirtualHost 192.168.1.66:80>
    ServerName localhost
    ServerAdmin root@localhost
    DocumentRoot /var/www/sharedip
    </VirtualHost>
    #
    #
    ######################################
    # Vhost: www.jeskimo51.homelinux.net/:80
    ######################################
    #
    #
    <VirtualHost 192.168.1.66:80>
    ServerName www.jeskimo51.homelinux.net/:80
    ServerAdmin [email protected]/
    DocumentRoot /var/www/web3/web
    ServerAlias
    DirectoryIndex index.html index.htm index.php index.php5 index.php4 index.php3 index.shtml index.cgi index.pl index.jsp Default.htm default.htm
    ErrorLog /var/www/web3/log/error.log
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .php4 .php5
    <Files *.php>
    SetOutputFilter PHP
    SetInputFilter PHP
    </Files>
    <Files *.php3>
    SetOutputFilter PHP
    SetInputFilter PHP
    </Files>
    <Files *.php4>
    SetOutputFilter PHP
    SetInputFilter PHP
    </Files>
    <Files *.php5>
    SetOutputFilter PHP
    SetInputFilter PHP
    </Files>
    php_admin_flag safe_mode Off
    Alias /error/ "/var/www/web3/web/error/"
    ErrorDocument 400 /error/invalidSyntax.html
    ErrorDocument 401 /error/authorizationRequired.html
    ErrorDocument 403 /error/forbidden.html
    ErrorDocument 404 /error/fileNotFound.html
    ErrorDocument 405 /error/methodNotAllowed.html
    ErrorDocument 500 /error/internalServerError.html
    ErrorDocument 503 /error/overloaded.html
    AliasMatch ^/~([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web3/user/$1/web/$3
    AliasMatch ^/users/([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web3/user/$1/web/$3
    </VirtualHost>
    #
    #
    #
     
  10. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Please remove the / at the end of the domain name in the website settings.
     
  11. Linocks

    Linocks New Member

    How was this issue resolved (if it has been resolved)?

    I am trying to set up virtual hosts as well but get error messages too!!

    The output from my file appears below : -

    Code:
    root@web:/var/log# less /etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf
    ###################################
    #
    # ISPConfig vHost Configuration File
    #         Version 1.0
    #
    ###################################
    #
    NameVirtualHost 10.10.0.10:80
    <VirtualHost 10.10.0.10:80>
      ServerName localhost
      ServerAdmin root@localhost
      DocumentRoot /var/www/sharedip
    </VirtualHost>
    #
    #
    ######################################
    # Vhost: web.fiwiyaad.com:80
    ######################################
    #
    #
    <VirtualHost 10.10.0.10:80>
    ServerName web.fiwiyaad.com:80
    ServerAdmin [email protected]
    DocumentRoot /var/www/web2/web
    ServerAlias
    DirectoryIndex index.html index.htm index.php index.php5 index.php4 index.php3 i
    ndex.shtml index.cgi index.pl index.jsp Default.htm default.htm
    ScriptAlias  /cgi-bin/ /var/www/web2/cgi-bin/
    AddHandler cgi-script .cgi
    AddHandler cgi-script .pl
    ErrorLog /var/www/web2/log/error.log
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .php4 .php5
    <Files *.php>
        SetOutputFilter PHP
        SetInputFilter PHP
    </Files>
    <Files *.php3>
        SetOutputFilter PHP
        SetInputFilter PHP
    </Files>
    <Files *.php4>
        SetOutputFilter PHP
        SetInputFilter PHP
    </Files>
    <Files *.php5>
        SetOutputFilter PHP
        SetInputFilter PHP
    </Files>
    php_admin_flag safe_mode Off
    AddType text/html .shtml
    AddOutputFilter INCLUDES .shtml
    AddType application/vnd.wap.wmlscriptc .wmlsc .wsc
    AddType text/vnd.wap.wml .wml
    AddType text/vnd.wap.wmlscript .ws .wmlscript
    AddType image/vnd.wap.wbmp .wbmp
    Alias /error/ "/var/www/web2/web/error/"
    ErrorDocument 400 /error/invalidSyntax.html
    ErrorDocument 401 /error/authorizationRequired.html
    ErrorDocument 403 /error/forbidden.html
    ErrorDocument 404 /error/fileNotFound.html
    ErrorDocument 405 /error/methodNotAllowed.html
    ErrorDocument 500 /error/internalServerError.html
    ErrorDocument 503 /error/overloaded.html
    AliasMatch ^/~([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web2/user/$1/web/$3
    AliasMatch ^/users/([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web2/user/$1/web/$3
    </VirtualHost>
    #
    #
    #
    (END)
    My DynDNS = eron.hobby-site.com

    If I enter eron.hobby-site.com or fiwiyaad.com or www.fiwiyaad.com I get the following error (with the appropriate domain in the text) : -
    Code:
    [B]ERROR
    The requested URL could not be retrieved
    [/B]
    While trying to retrieve the URL: http://www.fiwiyaad.com/defaultsite
    
    The following error was encountered:
    
        * Connection Failed 
    
    The system returned:
    
        (111) Connection refused
    
    The remote host or network may be down. Please try the request again.
    
    Your cache administrator is webmaster.
    Generated Sat, 23 Dec 2006 11:44:57 GMT by base-ecs-gates (squid/2.5.STABLE14) 
    Can anyone tell me what I need to do to correct this please? :eek:
     
  12. jeskimo5

    jeskimo5 New Member

    Thank you and another question

    After some fiddling something clicked and now my sites work. However when log into Ispconfig and try to ftp up some of my webpages I find that the only option i have is to put my webpages in directories stemming from vars not /vars mind you. I've included a screen shot that will hopefully help to explain things.
    I realize that i do not have an index file in the ispconfig window. It had already been moved manually to the proper directory
     

    Attached Files:

  13. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    1) Which user disd you use to login with FTP?
    2) Did you enable the administrator checkbox for this user?
     
  14. jeskimo5

    jeskimo5 New Member

    I logged in as a client. I'm not sure where this check box you speak of is.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2006
  15. jeskimo5

    jeskimo5 New Member

    Dear Linocks

    this is my checklist for you

    1. make sure that your dyndns address is pointed at your server, or network as the case may be. In my case I use a little app on a windows machine in my network that keeps my external ip address current and my domains pointing to it. You can find this little deal somewhere on dyndns's site.

    2. I believe it works best when your setting up a site to put in the hostname field the firstpart of your domain ie: eron Then where it asks you for your domain name put in hobby-site.com

    This is what worked for me and its probably not a complete answer but I hope it helps.
     
  16. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

  17. jeskimo5

    jeskimo5 New Member

    It worked

    Thank you very much gentlemen my questions have been answered.
     
  18. Linocks

    Linocks New Member

    I had already done that jeskimo5 but I still get the same shared IP page after having loaded a single index.html page via ISPConfig's FTP page.

    Any ideas?? :confused:
     
  19. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    If you get the shared IP page, you either selected the wrong IP address or your domain name does not point to the IP with a DNS A-Record. Domain redirects will not work.
     
  20. Linocks

    Linocks New Member

    I am not sure how to resolve this Till.

    I have a DynDNS domain (eron.hobby-site.com) because of my dynamic IP address. I have purchased a domain name (fiwiyaad.com) and configured the DNS record of my ISP to reflect the CName eron.hobby-site.com.

    In ISPConfig I have created a DNS entries as per the below image : -

    [​IMG]

    What exactly do I need to do. I have obviously not done it correctly because even though I can now type fiwiyaad.com into the browser and get the correct page; it doesn't work with my DynDNS domain name nor the https://fiwiyaad.com:81. I have to type the IP address (e.g. https://10.10.0.10:81 to get to the ISPConfig 'admin' page. :eek:

    PS In an effort to get it right I have deleted all records from the ISPConfig and started again so the /etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf file has now changed and the line DocumentRoot /var/www/web2/web now reads DocumentRoot /var/www/web7/web (and so too does all other appropriate lines from that file.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page