ispconfig3multiserver What's the recommended min resource requirements per service? Or ratio split?

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by AaronT, Jun 7, 2022.

1. AaronT

AaronT New Member

I'm new to ISPCONFIG3 multiserver (on Debian 10), and trying to familiarize myself with its setup.

Assuming lower usage (a.k.a. Small audience, small wordpress sites, simple sites, no big email campaigns. )

And no local networking.

And the default tutorial setup:
    • panel panel.example.com 10.0.64.12
    • web01 web01.example.com 10.0.64.13
    • mx1 mx1.example.com 10.0.64.14
    • mx2 mx2.example.com 10.0.64.15
    • ns1 ns1.example.com 10.0.64.16
    • ns2 ns2.example.com 10.0.64.17
    • webmail webmail.example.com 10.0.64.18

What should the minimum resources for each service server be?

In the event of up scaling, what services require what resources ratio-wise?
    (Diskspace e.g. I don't know what the panel server needs for disk space, will it ever need extra disk space past the minimum? Or can I just slap 10gb on it & then dump all future diskspace into websiteserver/webmail? How much Diskspace does my Mail-exchange servers need in comparison to my webmail server?)

Starting resources to split are:
    • unlimited bandwidth
    • 330gb SSD
    • 28gb RAM
    • 19 vCPU
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU Platinum 8268 @ 2.9 GHz
    cpu MHz : 2900
    cache size: 20480 KB

2. Taleman

Taleman Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter

I assume you are running some virtualization software and the hosts run as guests on that? Remember to leave 1 or 2 GB for the host, if guests use all the RAM things suffer.