Migration Tool - Successful Dry Run from one server to the other

Discussion in 'Plugins/Modules/Addons' started by Stefan Schumacher, Nov 18, 2021.

1. Hi,
    I just had a successful dry run, which is good considering that it is my first try.
    Question Nr 1: I remember reading that I could select individual customers. (The old servers have a lot of dead customers. Not moving them and instead selecting the ones to move would be more efficent then moving all and then start deleteting). How can I do this?
    Question Nr. 2: What happens to the data on the old servers? Are they deleted after/during moving or do they stay in case something went wrong during the migration and I need a fallback? (Of course I can and will most likely make a snapshot before migrating)
    Question Nr 3: Do you have any advice for me how to do this on an organizational level? After all a lot of users have to change their mailserver.
    I hope a bit of it will be caught by local IT but - lets be realistic - I fear that my telephone will ring for weeks with users who will ask me to change their password and their ancient version of Pegasus Mail for them. And we are a service provider, not the usual middle to small IT company which maintains Windows servers and clients. We migrated one customer manually and it took us hours, especially the part about helping them change their accounts. And we dont have any service level agreements with this people, so every minute I do more than "Here is your new password sir/madam. Have a productive day!" I am actually loosing money for the company.

Yours
    Stefan

2. Taleman

Taleman Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter

Where did you read this?
    Nothing.
    Migration tool preserves user accounts and passwords. If you change the hostnames in name service to point to the new IP-number, nothing changes for the users.

Stefan Schumacher likes this.
  3. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer