Modifying the EXT2 Filesystem

Discussion in 'Kernel Questions' started by BSnapZ, May 14, 2015.

1. BSnapZ

BSnapZ New Member

For a project I'm working on, I need to be able to modify the EXT2 filesystem. I have done extensive research, but as this is not a commonly required task, there seems to be very little helpful information available online. Unfortunately, due to confidentiality, I cannot go into specifics of what I am working on, but I can break the situation down to several key problems that I would be very grateful for assistance on. I should note that I have very little experience with Linux kernel/OS development.

I realise that this is not an easy problem to tackle, and it is definitely going to be a big challenge seeing as this is only a small part of the project. Any assistance with these problems (or any other warnings/advice) is greatly appreciated.

If this turns out to be impossible, then the entire project will have to be rethought, hence why I am starting at this point.

Problem 1: From source code to implementation
    This is not really the first problem, but I need to answer it first in order to make sure I'm on the right track at all! Remember that I am a novice, so this may be a silly question.

From what I can tell, all EXT2 source code is contained within the kernel source code at linux/fs/ext2/. If I were to modify this source code to make the changes I require, then successfully rebuild the kernel, what would it take to make a drive or partition use this newly modified filesystem? Would I just be able to reformat a drive as EXT2, using the new kernel, and the modified filesystem would be applied to it due to the modified source code? Or am I oversimplifying this?

Problem 2: Extending the metadata