Msql Password setup problem

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by robbiewo, Sep 27, 2006.

1. robbiewo

robbiewo New Member

i am new to mysql setup and have looked for forums on this subject but if it does exist please redirect me to link

i have been folowing the howto perfect setup fedora5 server with isp config
    and get problems with the mysql password setup.the commands are as follows

mysqladmin -u root password yourrootsqlpassword
    mysqladmin -h server1.example.com -u root password yourrootsqlpassword

the first line works well and i can set root password but the second line i get the error
    'Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: NO)'

any help much apprecaited

2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

You can ignore that. Complete the install and change the second mysql password with phpmyadmin after you finished the ISPConfig installation.

3. armitage

armitage New Member

etch

Hi,

I'm at this stage:
    Please enter your MySQL server: E.G. localhost
    Please enter your MySQL user: E.G. root
    Please enter your MySQL password: Your MySQL password

I'm getting

ERROR 1045 (28000): Access denied for user 'root'@"blahblah.com' (using password: YES)
    The provided MySQL password is wrong!

Is there anything I can do to not have to reinstall this again?
    I triple checked the password at msql stage, it seems I must have been blind on the night.
    thanks for your help again in advance

A
    :d

4. falko

falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

Can you log in with your password when you type in
    Code:
    mysql -u root -p
    ?
    If not, does
    Code:
    mysql -u root
    work?

5. armitage

armitage New Member

this is what I get

Code:

web:/# mysql -u root -p
    Enter password:
    ERROR 1045 (28000): Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)
    web:/# mysql -u root