Multiserver Setup with Virtual Servers - Infrastrcutre

Discussion in 'ISPConfig 3 Priority Support' started by arraken, Oct 29, 2013.

1. arraken

arraken Member

Hello!

At the moment I got an ISPConfig3 Server running in a standard singleserver setup, meaning all services are running on one root server (from hetzner).

Now it's time to move on to a more sophisticated multiserver setup. My goal is to have 2-3 physical servers, with multiple virtual servers running on them. However i'm rather new to virtualization, and I never did a multiserver setup before, so I have a few questions.

Below you see the general setup I want to achieve.

[​IMG]

From the tutorials and the posts in the forum I have read, I came up with the following procedure:

1. Install OpenVZ and ISPConfig on Root1 following this tutorial: http://www.howtoforge.com/installing-openvz-plus-management-of-vms-through-ispconfig-3-debian-6.0

2. Following the same tutorial, create 3 VM's on root1 for www1, DNS1 and DB

Now my first question:
    Q1: I want to install OpenVZ VMs for Mail, DNS2, WWW2, and DB2 on the Root2 and Root3 servers, as shown in the picture. I want to create and manage those VM's through the ISPConfig-Interface on Root1. How can that be done, and what do I have to install on Root2 and Root3. Only OpenVZ, or also ISPConfig as slave?

If this all works as planned, I should have an infrastructure into which I can install an ISPConfig multiserver setup.

Regarding that, I have another question:
    Q2: Where should I create the ISPConfig master for my multiserver setup?

A: Should I make the ISPConfig installation on Root1 which manages the VM's the ISPConfig-Master
    B: Should I make WWW1 the ISPConfig master, which would result in a very similar setup to this tutorial:
    http://www.howtoforge.de/anleitung/...servern-unter-debian-squeeze-mit-ispconfig-3/