MySql on Ubuntu 6.06 LTS Server

Discussion in 'Server Operation' started by Bubo, Jan 2, 2007.

1. Bubo

Bubo New Member

Hi All

I am trying to setup a stand alone MySql server for a specific task in our office. I have followed the howto (perfect ubuntu 6.06) up to and including the mysql installation.

I can then get a mysql prompt by entering:

Code:
    mysql -u root -p <password>

Our lan is as follows:

192.168.10.1 - Smoothwall handling DHCP across lan + firewall
    192.168.10.2 - Win 2003 Server handling DNS for lan and running active directory for authenticating a dozen or so Windows boxes.

I have set the Ubuntu server as static IP on 192.168.10.222.

netstat -tap shows mysql listening on all and I can ping 192.168.10.222 from a windows box on the lan.

When I try and ping the host/domain name (server2.<hostname>) however I get host not found so I am thinking perhaps a DNS issue?

I wanted to use a gui adminstrator for mysql as I am fairly new to it, so I chose MySql Control Centre on my Windows box.

When I try to connect to the Mysql Server using this I get this error:

Code:
    [[email protected];3306] ERROR 1130: Host '192.168.10.144' is not allowed to connect to this MySQL server

So my question is, what is preventing me accessing this server across the lan and how can I resolve the issue?

Thanks in advance.

Bubo

2. martinfst

martinfst Member Moderator

This looks like a response from the MySQL server, so the only thing left to do is to grant permissions to the user in MySQL. Normally you only get 'localhost' access. Use phpmyadmin or similar to change the permissions of the the user you want to connect with. For which I wouldn't use 'root', but that's a simple security matter.

3. falko

falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff

martinfst is right, you need a user with 192.168.10.144 in the Host field in the mysql.user table.

4. Bubo

Bubo New Member

Thanks for that but I am still a little confused :eek:

I created the user as follows:

Code: